

Nominations Sought for the 2024

J. Robert Elster Award for Professional Excellence

Nominations are being accepted for the 2024 J. Robert Elster Award for Professional Excellence. This award, named in honor of the life and career of J. Robert Elster, the second president and a founding member of the Association, recognizes NCADA members who exemplify the highest standards of professionalism, integrity, and ethics, and conduct herself, or himself, in a civil, courteous manner with all persons.

Please nominate a present or past member of the NCADA for consideration as a possible recipient of the Award for Professional Excellence that will be presented later this year. Your letter of nomination should be addressed to **Brian Beverly, Chair, Awards Committee, c/o Lynette Pitt, Executive Director, NCADA, 4441-106 Six Forks Road #107, Raleigh, NC 27609.** Alternately, the nomination may be emailed to <u>lynettepitt@ncada.org</u>. The letter should reference the "J. Robert Elster Award for Professional Excellence," include the name and current address of your nominee, along with supporting information and any appropriate documentation you believe will help the Awards Committee in making a recommendation to the Board of Directors. Your letter must be received at the Raleigh office no later than **Friday, April 26, 2024.**

Criteria: The recipient shall be a present, or former, member of the North Carolina Association of Defense Attorneys. The recipient must exemplify the highest standards of professionalism, integrity, and ethics, and conduct herself, or himself, in a civil, courteous manner with all persons. The recipient must exemplify sustained, excellent service to individual and corporate defendants in civil litigation, to the Bar, and to the community.

Other factors that may be considered are involvement in judicial or other professional educational activities; participation in activities that improve the civil justice system; and such other criteria as the Board or Awards Committee shall determine to be important to the extraordinary achievement intended to be recognized by this Award.

Nomination and Selection: Nominations shall be by current members of the NCADA

The Awards Committee shall receive all nominations in confidence. It shall review the nominations, and if a recipient is selected, shall confidentially recommend a recipient of the Award to the Board of Directors of the NCADA. If the Award recipient is approved by the Board of Directors, the Awards Committee shall prepare an outline of the presentation to be made by the President of the NCADA at the Annual Meeting, and shall obtain the Award on behalf of the NCADA for presentation.

The Award is intended as a special recognition, and it is not necessary that an Award be given as often as annually.

Past Recipients	
2023 Patricia L. Holland	2013 James W. Williams
2022 J. Nicholas Ellis	2012 Richard V. Bennett
2021 Barbara "Bonnie" B. Weyher	2011 L. P. "Tony" Hornthal, Jr.
2020 Patricia "Tricia" P. Shields	2010 Charles E. Burgin, Jr.
2019 G. Gray Wilson	2009 Sam S. Woodley, Jr.
2018 Kenneth Kyre, Jr.	2008 Alan W. Duncan
2017 Leslie C. Packer	2007 William K. Davis
2016 John S. Willardson	2006 J. Donald Cowan, Jr.
2015 Honorable Linda Stephens	2005 James D. Blount, Jr. & Stephen P. Millikin
2014 Harvey L. Cosper, Jr.	2004 Richard T. Boyette